Back in the summer of 1981, I was turning 13. My birthday is June 22, so when my parents loaded me and my brothers up in the car and took us to another town to “shop for fireworks” I was a bit annoyed. Boys cared about that, not me. And it was too early anyway! But it was all a ruse. I was being taken to pick out my birthday present – a puppy! The litter was half poodle and half pekingese – 30 years before the designer dog craze I had picked out a pekeapoo named Taffy.

We had to leave her to grow a bit more… here’s what she looked like when we were finally able to bring her home.

She was always a good sport.

Later in high school we got another dog, and Taffy never liked her. She hid a lot after that. She lived until I was about 25 years old, when we had to put her down due to brain cancer. She was a good dog.

