Tags

,

Houdini dog (aka Sparky) made it clear – as I was driving on I-70 at 80mph – that he was not going to stay in his pink puppy purse. I was fearful that he would strangle himself in his escape attempts (see previous post). So, I tried putting him in a dogbed on the passenger seat. He kept climbing right over the middle console and in my lap. So in my lap he stayed, until the sun started shining in his eyes. Then he decided he needed to ride on my shoulder. (Yeah, it was Sunday morning and I didn’t have makeup on; wanna fight about it? šŸ˜‰ )

Sparky on I-70
This is how we roll on the west si-ide tip.
I couldn’t believe that Sparky defied all of my predictions, and did not puke in the truck. He also didn’t go to the bathroom the whole trip, despite me stopping twice.
Finally we arrived at the pre-determined meeting spot: The McDonalds in Colby, Kansas.

sparky meets dad
“Now who is this new guy? My new DAD?! Hey, I just got used to the chick who drives too fast! And now this?”

sparkydad 3
“This new guy seems legit. I guess he’s worthy for one of my patented cuddles.”

sparky meets dad 2
It’s been a long day for a little puppy.

Sparky meets mom
“New mom seems OK as well. Ya gotta like a dame who can pull off horizontal stripes.”

As a new parent, dad tended to hover a bit.
sparky sun

And off mom and dad drove, back to Wichita with their new puppy. As I was driving back to Denver, I missed Sparky. It was up to mom and dad now to make sure Sparky was raised to be an upstanding member of dog-ciety.

